Welcome to the Finance Commission of Texas


Mission Statement


The mission of the Finance Commission of Texas is to ensure that the banks, savings institutions, consumer credit grantors, and other regulated entities chartered or licensed under state law operate as sound and responsible institutions that enhance the financial well-being of the citizens of Texas.



The Commission is responsible for overseeing and coordinating the activities of the Texas Department of Banking (TXDOB), the Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending (SML), and the Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner (OCCC). The Commission aims to ensure Texas’ financial service providers operate in a safe and sound manner, industries function as a coordinated system considering the broad scope of the financial services arena under its jurisdiction, and consumers that seek services from licensed financial service providers are protected from unfair or damaging practices.

The Commission was established in 1943 and derives its authority from Chapter 11 of the Texas Finance Code. The Commission consists of eleven members who are private citizens appointed by the Governor of Texas, subject to Senate confirmation.


Department of Savings & Mortgage Lending Commissioner Job Posting


Next Commission Meeting

Friday, April 11th Time
Audit Committee 8:30 a.m.
Finance Commission 9 a.m. *
 *Or upon adjournment of previous meeting
All meetings will be held at:  
Finance Commission Building
William F. Aldridge Hearing Room
2601 North Lamar Boulevard
Austin, Texas

Meeting Packets  


Finance Commission Agencies

Texas Department of Banking
Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending
Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner


Future Meeting Dates

June 20, 2014
August 15, 2014
October 17, 2014
December 12, 2014


Finance Commission Building


State Finance Commission Building
2601 N. Lamar Boulevard
Austin, Texas 78705

Fax: 512-475-1505


Driving Directions


Finance Commission Agency Related Sites